is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
If you are currently in Active Military Duty, you may be eligible to add a motorcycle endorsement to your Minnesota license.
If you are currently in Minnesota, see the Apply for Motorcycle Endorsement Page.
If you are not in Minnesota, you are still eligible to add the endorsement. You will need to submit proof of passing comparable motorcycle knowledge and skills tests from your temporary state of residence. Use the Motorcycle Military Endorsement Information Sheet as a reference. Your license must remain current in order to retain the endorsement.
To keep your license active:Complete an out-of-state packet (request one via email at DVS.email@example.com or (651) 297-3298, which includes a vision screening, a license application that must be completed in print (not online) and notarized by an official notary, and appropriate fees – money orders or checks only (no starter checks will be accepted) made out to DVS, do not send cash. Please allow six weeks for receipt of your new card; you can opt to expedite your application, which is an additional $20 fee, please enclose a separate check if you choose to expedite your application.To add the Motorcycle Endorsement:Submit acceptable proof on letterhead from the out-of-state test provider of passed knowledge (written) and skills (road) tests along with the completed out-of-state packet for a duplicate or renewal of the Minnesota driver’s license and appropriate fees ($21 if no Minnesota motorcycle permit is on file plus the cost of the duplicate or renewal license).
Refer to the Complete Driver’s License Fee to see all fees, including endorsement and reinstatement fees.
Minnesota Statute 171.13, subd. 1a
Minnesota Motorcycle Manual
Vision Report (Vision Screening) (PS30338)
Expedited (Fast Track) Driver's License - Just the Facts
Effective January 1, 2014, the driver’s license filing fee which pays for the costs of the services provided in the driver’s license/ID card issuance process, increases from $5 to $8, as required by Minn. Stat. 171.061, HF 1444, Chapter 117.
Mail:Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 190Saint Paul, MN 55101-5190Email:Driver Services DVS.firstname.lastname@example.orgPhone:Driver’s Licenses: (651) 297-3298Office Locations: (651) 297-2005Assistance for Hearing Impaired Callers (TDD/TTY): (651) 282-6555Driver’s License Status: (651) 284-2000 or check online
Active Military Duty Steps (select Type of License, then prompted to select Active Military Duty)
Class D - Renew Driver's License Page