Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

License Plate Fees

Plate Display

License plates must be displayed horizontally, in an upright position, with the numbers and letters facing out from the vehicle.
 

 

For license plates that require validation:
  • Display the expiration month in the lower left corner of the license plate

  • Display the expiration year in the lower right corner of the plate

 A single license plate may be issued to a passenger vehicle if the vehicle:

  • Model year is 1972 or earlier, and is used for general transportation
  • Is used for general transportation and meets the definition of a pioneer, classic or street rod vehicle (Minnesota Statute 168.10)
  • Is registered in one of the collector classes (Pioneer, Classic Car, Collector or Street Rod)

License Plate/Sticker Fee Chart

​Type of Fee

​Cost

Filing fee – Due with each registration renewal
$6
Filing fee – Due with each application for:

  • Special plates or transfer of special plates
  • Duplicate plates, stickers or registration card
  • 31 Day Non-Resident Permit
$10
Passenger Vehicle Plate Fees
$6 (Double Plates)
$4.50 (Single Plate)*
Trailers 
$4.50
 
$2.50 (Life-Time Adhesive Sticker)
Motorcycle/Moped Plate Fee
$4.50
Truck Plate Fees
$6 (Double Plates)
$4.50 (Single Plate)
Duplicate Validation Stickers (All Vehicles)
$1
31 Day Non-Resident Permit
(Issued to non-residents to allow them to remove the vehicle from Minnesota to their state of residence. This non-renewable permit is issued to all classes of vehicles and can be obtained at any deputy registrar office.)
$1

 

*A single license plate is only available for a passenger vehicle if the vehicle is a model year of 1972 or earlier and used for general transportation; is used for general transportation and meets the definition of a pioneer, classic or street rod vehicle; or, is registered in one of the collector classes: Pioneer, Classic Car, Collector, or Street Rod.