is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
If you have legally changed your name, you will need to obtain a duplicate or renewal license, depending on the status of your current license. You can apply for a duplicate or renewal license at any Driver’s License Office. Before you go, use the Pre-Application feature for faster service.
You must present your current driver's license and a certified marriage certificate, a certified divorce or dissolution of marriage decree specifying the name change, or other certified court order specifying the name change.
If you have not updated your name change with the Social Security Administration, you must do so prior to applying for a new license or ID.
A duplicate or renewal license can be obtained at any Driver’s License Office or Driver and Vehicle Services Exam Station.
For a duplicate license, the driver's license photo on file is used to verify identity. If identify cannot be verified or there has been a name changed since the last application, additional identification is needed.
See Class D - License Renewal Page for complete details on the renewal process.
Refer to the Complete Driver’s License Fee to see all fees, including endorsement and reinstatement fees.
Minnesota law requires that you apply for a new driver's license within 30 days of legally changing your name.
Pre-Apply for a Driver's License - This will reduce the time you spend at the driver's license office.
Minnesota Class D Driver's Manual
El Manual del Conductor de Minnesota
Requisitos de Identificacion
Medical Conditions and Your License - Just the Facts
Expedited (Fast Track) Driver's License - Just the Facts
Effective January 1, 2014, the driver’s license filing fee which pays for the costs of the services provided in the driver’s license/ID card issuance process, increases from $5 to $8, as required by Minn. Stat. 171.061, HF 1444, Chapter 117.
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 190Saint Paul, MN 55101-5190
DVS Office Locations
Pre-Apply for a Driver's License
Class D - License Renewal Page
Class D - Address Change Page