Driver's License - Class D – New Resident
Welcome! As a new resident, you will need to obtain a Minnesota driver's license and get Minnesota registration for your vehicle.
Policies and Procedures
Proof of Identity/Residency Requirements
To apply for a Minnesota driver's license, identification card or instruction permit, you may present a Minnesota driver's license, instruction permit or state identification card that is current or expired for five years or less if it has a photo, one year or less if it does not have a photo.
If you do not have one of these items, you must present one primary and one secondary form of identification. The primary document must contain your full legal name (first, middle and last) and the month, day and year of your birth.
If you have a valid license from another U.S. state, certain territories (Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Virgin Islands and Guam,) or Canada, you can obtain a Minnesota driver's license by passing the knowledge (written) test and a vision check. You do not need to take a skills (road) test unless your license has been expired for more than one year.
If you have moved to Minnesota from a country other than the U.S. or Canada, you must pass a knowledge, a skills test and a vision check, even if you have a valid driver's license from your former home country.
At the time of application, you must present your other driver's license. Your license from your previous state of residence, including Canada, will be invalidated and returned to you. Licenses from another country are not invalidated as you may use them if you have dual citizenship. If you are unable to present your current valid driver's license, you will need to supply a certified copy of your driving record.Testing Knowledge (Written) Test:
Available by appointment only at a Driver and Vehicle Services Exam Station during certain hours.
You can schedule an appointment online at drive.mn.gov
by selecting Schedule or Reschedule a Road or Class D Knowledge Test.
You must show proper identification when you are ready to take the test. The knowledge (written) test contains multiple choice and True/False questions that show how well you know and understand Minnesota traffic laws and road signs. Only one test is allowed per day. Some stations offer a computerized test which is available in English or several other languages (Hmong, Vietnamese, Somali, Spanish and Russian). Skills (Road) Test:
The skills (road) test consists of a demonstration of your vehicle's safety equipment, your vehicle control skills and a driving performance test. You are tested on your ability to drive a motor vehicle safely under normal traffic conditions. You may not have anyone in the car during the test other than the driver examiner. You must make an appointment for a skills (road) test. This can be done online
or by calling (651) 284-1234
. See below for information regarding winter road testing.
To take the skills (road) test you must have:
- Your own vehicle, on which:
- Doors must open from inside and outside
- Seatbelts must work properly
- Headlights, taillights, brake lights and turn signals must work properly
- Vehicle registration must be current or the vehicle must display a 21-day permit
- Valid proof of insurance (such as the original insurance identification card or policy) for the vehicle you are taking the test in. Photocopies or copies off the Internet are not acceptable.
- If you are under 18 years of age, you must:
- Present a certificate of course completion (white card) to prove you have completed an approved driver education course
- Have held an instruction permit for at least six months with no convictions for moving violations or alcohol/controlled substance violations
- If all or part of your six months of driving experience was in a state other than Minnesota, you must provide a certified driving record from that state
- There is a $20 test fee for a third or subsequent test (after failing first two)
- Payment by cash or check only.
*Winter Road Testing
• Road test appointments during the winter months may be delayed until streets are passable and skill exercise areas are cleared
• If a vehicle gets stuck during a road test, the test cannot be completed and it will result in a failed road test attempt
• It is the customer's responsibility to obtain any towing services
Your eyes will be checked when you apply for a permit or driver's license. This is not a medical exam; it is a screening to determine if your vision meets minimum standards. To pass, your normal or corrected vision must be at least 20/40 in either one usable eye or both eyes together. Your peripheral vision must be at least 105 degrees in either one or both eyes. Applying for a Minnesota Driver's License
You will need to:
- Present proper identification
- Present white and yellow copy of your successful test results
- Present all other driver's licenses. Your license from your previous state of residence will be invalidated and returned to you. Licenses from another country are not invalidated as you may use them if you have dual citizenship.
- Social Security number - Applicants for Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services cards are required to provide their Social Security number (SSN) on the application form. Applicants who have not been issued a SSN must certify that information on the form. Your Social Security number is private information that will be secure on the driver’s license information system and accessible only to those lawfully authorized to access it. Social Security numbers are not located on, or embedded in, driver’s licenses or identification cards.
You can apply at any Driver’s License Office
, some of which are Exam station locations. Before you go, use the Pre-Application feature for faster service.Name Change
If your full name is different than the name on your primary document or driver's license, instruction permit or state identification card, you must also present proof of your legal name change. Acceptable proof consists of certified copies of marriage certificates, certified copies of divorce decrees or other court orders. Divorce decrees or other court orders must specify the name change. Your identity and name change documents need to show a clear link between your names.
Frequently Asked Questions
How soon do I need to obtain a Minnesota driver's license?
You have 60 days after becoming a resident in Minnesota to obtain your Minnesota license or permit if you have a valid driver's license or instruction permit from another state.
You have 30 days to obtain your Minnesota license after moving to Minnesota if you have a valid commercial driver's license from another state.
If you work for the United States Armed Forces, or you are a family member of someone in the Armed Forces stationed in Minnesota, and hold a valid out-of-state driver's license, you do not need to obtain a Minnesota license (refer to the Class D Active Military Duty Page).
Effective January 1, 2014, the driver’s license filing fee which pays for the costs of the services provided in the driver’s license/ID card issuance process, increases from $5 to $8, as required by Minn. Stat. 171.061, HF 1444, Chapter 117.