is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
To obtain a motorcycle endorsement, you must possess a valid motorcycle instruction permit and pass the skills (road) test. For training information see the DVS Driver Education Map or the Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Center Website. Schedule a Skills (Road) Test by calling DVS at (651) 284-1000 or online.For the skills test, you must bring:
You will not be allowed to test if you do not bring all of these items.If you pass the skills test, you will be able to add the motorcycle endorsement to your current driver’s license, to do so will require applying for a duplicate driver’s license (select Type of License and then will be prompted to select Get a Duplicate). If your current license is up for renewal, you may add the endorsement when you renew your license (select Type of License and then will be prompted to select Renew License).
Note: If you test on a three-wheeled motorcycle, you will be restricted to operating three-wheelers only.
Riders under 18 will be required to have a parent or court-appointed guardian sign the application to add the motorcycle endorsement.
If you fail the skills (road) test, you may retake it after you have had time to improve your riding skills. You will be assigned practice time that must be completed before your next skills (road) test is given.
New ResidentsIf you are a new Minnesota resident and have a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement from another state (or one that has been expired for less than one year) you will need to take a knowledge (written) test to get a Minnesota driver’s license. You may take the motorcycle knowledge (written) test at the same time you take the driver’s license knowledge (written) test. The motorcycle skills (road) test will be waived when you pass the knowledge (written) test. An endorsement fee of $21 will be added to the cost of your Minnesota driver’s license.
Motorcycle RegistrationAll motorcycles must be registered with the state and display a license plate showing that registration tax has been paid. The registration period is from March 1 through the last day of February. Re-registration is required annually and expires at the end of February. New residents have 60 days after becoming Minnesota residents to register their motorcycles. For more information, contact your local deputy registrar or call (651) 297-2126.See the Motorcycle License Plates Page for complete details.
Refer to the Complete Driver’s License Fee to see all fees, including endorsement and reinstatement fees.
Minnesota Statute 171.02
Minnesota Rule 7410.4860
Minnesota Rule 7410.5440
Minnesota Statute 171.13
Effective January 1, 2014, the driver’s license filing fee which pays for the costs of the services provided in the driver’s license/ID card issuance process, increases from $5 to $8, as required by Minn. Stat. 171.061, HF 1444, Chapter 117.
DVS Office Locations
Class D - Renew Driver's License Page
Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Center Website
Schedule a Skills (Road) Test Online
DVS Motorcycle Rider Training Locations