is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
Resources and materials for current Commercial/Private Driver Educators and for those who want to become an instructor in a commercial driver training school.
To become an instructor in a commercial driver training school, you must meet the eligibility and training requirements as specified in Minnesota Rules, parts 7411.0620 through 7411.0690.
To qualify for a commercial driver training school license the following requirements must be met before a driving school can open for business:
Note: No permanent or temporary program location may be within 150 feet of a driver examination station.
For alternative service delivery, such as providing interpreters for deaf or hearing/speech-impaired persons, please call (651) 297-5029 or (TTY) (651) 282-6555 in advance to make arrangements.
Initial and Renewal Commercial School License Annual Fee: $165 (includes a 10% e-Licensing surcharge)
Duplicate Commercial School License: $25
Initial and Renewal Commercial Instructor License Annual Fee: $55 (includes a 10% e-Licensing surcharge)
Duplicate Commercial Instructor License: $5
Driver Education Rule
Minnesota Statute 169
Minnesota Statute 171
Driver Education Resources
Commercial Driver Training: School, Instructor & Vehicle Requirements
Requisitos de Identificacion
Instruction Permit FAQ
Knowledge (Written) and Skills (Road) Test Checklists from Driver's Manual
Bond of Commercial Driver Training School
Application for Driver's Training Instructor License (PS36008)
Application for Commercial Driver Training School License (PS36275)
Driver Educator Crash/Violation Report
Driver Education Vehicle Insurance Certificate
Application for Driver Education Program Approval (PS36010)
Driver Educator Sample Agreement Contract
Driver Education Motorcycle Insurance Certificate
Driver Education Class D Vehicle Inspection Form
Minnesota Class D Driver's Manual
Commercial Driver's License Manual
El Manual del Conductor de Minnesota (Spanish Driver's Manual):
El Manual del Conductor de Minnesota
Mail:Driver and Vehicle Services - Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 176Saint Paul, MN 55101-5176Email:Driver Services: DVS.firstname.lastname@example.orgPhone:Driver Education Office: (651) 201-7626Office Locations: (651) 297-2005Schedule a Skills (Road) Test: (651) 284-1000 or online Assistance for Hearing Impaired Callers (TDD/TTY): (651) 282-6555Fax:Driver Education: (651) 296-5316
Get the Free Adobe Reader
DVS Office Locations
Driving Education Courses Locations
Class D - New Driver Steps (select Age Bracket)
Office of Traffic Safety Website Schedule a Skills (Road) Test Online