Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Training

New in Training

 

Law Enforcement Training Courses Offered by the Minnesota State Patrol

 

Training Requirements:

Officers working overtime enforcement hours funded by this grant must have completed the following training prior to working any project hours:
  • NHTSA’s 16-hour Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) course
  • Minnesota’s Occupant Protection Usage and Enforcement (OPUE) course.
  • NHTSA’s Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) or Drugs That Impair Driving (DTID)

Refreshers:

  • Officers who last completed an SFST course of any kind before October 1, 2011 must complete an SFST/DWI Update class, the online ARIDE course and the online OPUE by Oct. 1, 2016

ARIDE Online - 6 POST credits

This course will instruct officers on the difference between alcohol and drug impaired drivers; how they are detected and what can be expected. Officers will learn the observable signs of seven major drug categories, medical conditions that mimic drug influence, and what they will see when they encounter drivers under the influence of specific drugs.  This course may be used as ARIDE refresher.

Read the course access instructions and frequently asked questions.

 

OPUE Online - 3 POST credits

This online curriculum is only necessary for people who had the classroom training more than five years ago or have never taken OPUE at all. 

Link to OPUE: https://mndps.edtotal.com/client 

 

Quick Reference Guide:

 
Course
Length
Type
Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST)
16 hours
classroom
Drugs That Impair Driving (DTID) - offered until Sept. 30, 2015
OR
Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) - available now, but replaces DTID on Oct. 1, 2015
6 or 8 hours

10 hours
classroom

classroom
Occupant Protection Usage and Enforcement (OPUE)
 
3 hours
Classroom
(until Oct. 1, 2015)
 
Beginning Oct. 1, 2015, all training courses will be required to be refreshed within five years of their previous training date.  
 
Course
Length
Type
Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST),
4 hours
classroom
Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) - available now
5 hours
online
Occupant Protection Usage and Enforcement (OPUE)
 
3 hours
online
 

 

 

Child Passenger Safety Training

Child passenger safety training is provided by OTS. Classes will be scheduled around the state, most frequently in the spring and early summer.
 

Online Crash Data Collection Training

This course provides detailed instruction to complete the Minnesota Accident Report form through the Driver and Vehicle Services Law Enforcement Support website. Once successfully completing the course test, personnel can print out a certificate of completion for one hour of POST Board credit. To obtain a copy of the training, contact Kathleen Haney at 651-201-7064 or e-mail kathleen.haney@state.mn.us