Now you can take the class D knowledge test online
Oct. 12, 2020
If we’ve learned anything this year, it’s that COVID-19 affects almost every aspect of our lives: work, school, socializing, even getting your driver’s license. Fortunately, people are coming up with creative ways to overcome some of those hurdles. Take the Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services division (DPS-DVS), for example. They worked with various partners and members of the public so that Minnesotans can now take their class D knowledge tests online. This is possible because of legislation signed into law by Gov. Tim Walz.
This online option will allow prospective drivers to take the class D knowledge test at a convenient time in the comfort of their home. And for those who have to travel long distances to their regional exam station, this will save them a trip. Instead, equipped with an internet connection and an adult to proctor, they can take the class D knowledge test at home. They’ll also have the option to visit an authorized third-party testing location, such as a school, deputy registrar or driver’s license agent office, to take the test. These may have the benefit of being closer and easier to get to than the nearest DVS exam station.
Here’s how it works: You can request to take your knowledge test online by following the prompts on the “Take a Class D Knowledge Test” section of drive.mn.gov. You’ll need to include the information for the person who will be supervising your test. A proctor must be 21 or older and have a valid Minnesota driver’s license, and agree not to help you during the test. Then you’ll get an email with a link to the test site, a ticket number, a unique security code, and instructions for you and your proctor. Once you’re registered for the test, you’ll have 48 hours to take it.
You can take the test itself anytime between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m., Monday through Saturday – just note that once you sign in to the test, you’ll have 30 minutes to complete it. If you pass, you can go back to drive.mn.gov and complete the pre-application, then visit an office to finish your application. If you fail, you’ll have to restart the process. Here’s how the various attempts at the class D knowledge test work:
Attempt 1: Online, at a DVS exam station, or at a third-party testing location (these locations can choose to charge up to a $10 fee).
Attempt 2: Online, at a DVS exam station, or a third-party testing location (these locations can choose to charge up to a $10 fee).
Attempt 3: At a third-party testing location (these locations can choose to charge up to a $10 fee) or DVS exam station ($10 fee).
Attempts 4 and up: At a DVS exam station ($10 fee).
Want to know more about taking the class D knowledge test online? DPS-DVS has resources for you: