Financial help for crime victims
If you or someone you know has been the victim of a violent crime, the Minnesota Crime Victims Reparations Program may be able to help. The reparations program provides financial help to victims and their families for losses incurred as a result of the crime.
Financial Help Brochure
English / Spanish / Hmong / Cambodian / Somali / Vietnamese
Apply through the Victim System Portal. Once in the portal, the user creates a profile, submits the requested information in the application, and uploads documents to support the application.
Click here to access the Victim Services Portal
Once a profile has been created, the applicant can check on the status of their claim through the portal. Subsequent documents related to the claim must be submitted through the portal.
Click here for Frequently Asked Questions about the Victim Services Portal.
Apply by completing the Reparations Application Form (fillable PDF):
The completed application form must be signed and dated, and mailed, faxed or emailed to the Minnesota Crime Victims Reparations Board (information on form).
Getting help with application
Victims can get assistance filling out the application form (both online and paper) from the victim/witness coordinator in their county attorney's office or from an advocate in their local sexual assault, domestic violence program or general crime victim program. Click here to find a program in your county.
Financial assistance through the reparations program is available to victims of violent crime, inluding:
- Crime involving an injury or death
- Child abuse
- Domestic abuse
- Criminal vehicular operation and drunk driving
Property crimes are not covered.
- The crime must have occurred in Minnesota, or in a foreign country without a compensation program.
- The crime must be reported to police within 30 days.
- The claim must be filed within 3 years.
- The victim must cooperate fully with police and prosecutor.
- The victim must not have committed a crime or contributed through misconduct.
If the crime occurred in another state, click here to find the state compensation program in that state.
Types of expenses covered
Funeral and burial expenses
Medical and dental bills
Mental health counseling expenses
Child care and household services
Loss of wages
Crime scene cleanup
Financial support for dependents of a homicide victim
The program pays only those expenses which are not covered by another source such as health insurance, medical assistance, charity care, auto insurance, workman's compensation, vacation/sick leave, short and long term disability, etc.
Pain and suffering, and damaged or stolen money or property are not covered.
The Minnesota Crime Victims Reparations Board is a state program that was established by the Legislature in 1974 to help victims with their financial losses and aid in their recovery from a violent crime.
Our mission is to reduce the economic impact of violent crime on victims and their families by providing direct financial assistance; and to hold criminal offenders accountable for the costs of crime through improved collection of restitution and civil awards.
To learn more about our program and its history, please view our latest Annual Report.
Minnesota Crime Victims Reparations Program
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 2300, St. Paul, MN 55101-1515
Fax: 651-296-5787 | Email: DPS Justice Programs
651-201-7300 or 1-888-622-8799