Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Resources and Equipment

Resources and equipment  

Pocket media guidePhoto of the pocket media guide.

The Fire Department Pocket Media Guide is a tool to help firefighters work with the media in their community. The guide includes interview tips as well as talking points for various types of fires. If you would like free copies of this guide for your department, email Bruce West

Minnesota Incident Command System

The Minnesota Incident Command System was created to enable agencies to support each other on large wildfire incidents. Today, these multi-agency teams respond to a need for coordination on floods, search and rescue, large gatherings and wildfires. ​For more information, check out the MNICS website. 

Fire and Fall Prevention for Older Adults - Program Guide

In the past five years, in Minnesota, 42 percent of fire deaths were adults over the age of 60. The rate of falls in older, in Minnesota, is climbing faster than the national rate. In order to provide tools to drive these numbers down the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association along with the State Fire Marshal Division has created an education program for older adults. The goal of this program guide is to provide an educational resource to fire departments and community partners that will help them teach older adults how to prevent fires and falls in their home. The outcome of the goal is to save the lives and improve the quality of life of older adults.

Volunteer recruitment and retention stipend pilot program

In 2014, the legislature passed a three-year, $500 Volunteer Recruitment and Retention Stipend Pilot Program. The program provides an annual $500 stipend payment to volunteer or paid on call firefighters, ambulance attendants, and emergency medical responders that have provided service for fire departments or EMS organizations within the 14 county pilot area and meet the program qualifications.

This fact sheet​ explains more about the program and includes frequently asked questions.  

For additional information on the program please contact Recruitment & Retention Coordinator Nanci Libor at​ or 612-270-6956.

Gear washer grants 

In recent years, fire departments across Minnesota have implemented turnout gear decontamination procedures post fire events to help reduce firefighter exposure to toxic combustion byproducts. Many fire departments, however, have found commercial turnout gear washer/extractors, which can cost upwards of $10,000, to be cost prohibitive. The State Fire Marshal Division has implemented a $200,000 matching award program to assist eligible fire departments in the purchase of commercial turnout gear washer/extractors.​ Contact Nanci Libor at​ or 612-270-6956​ for more information. Here is a list of the most recent grant recipients

American Red Cross: Home fire risk map

The Home Fire Risk Map is a planning resource to improve regional in-home and smoke alarm installation by helping to identify vulnerable communities across the country. To learn more about the Home Fire Campaign and how to use the Home Fire Risk map a four step training tutorial has been created.​

Materials generator

The Materials Generator is a new tool that allows departments to generate customized door hangers, fliers and activity guides using proven fire safety messages with your own department logo and contact information. The tool was developed by a team of fire safety and communications experts to help enhance your community risk reduction programs. You can find the Materials Generator on the Vision 20/20 website.

Federal excess property

Need fire suppression equipment for your department? The federal government makes equipment available through its Federal Excess Property Program. You can find more information about this program on the Minnesota DNR's website.

Service Planning Grant

The State Fire Marshal Division occasionally has money available for fire departments interested in studying the feasibility of sharing services. You can read through some of the reports and learn more about the service planning grant program online. You may also contact Tate Mills, Fire Service Specialist at 320-333-2817 or

Kitchen fire safety trailers 

Through a grant from the MN FAIR Plan, the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association Public Education Committee has two Kitchen Fire Safety Live Demonstration Units available to fire departments across Minnesota. Learn more on the MSFCA website. 

Fire Training Prop Trailers  

The Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division (SFMD) has used an Assistance to Firefighters Grant (AFG) through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for eight fire training prop trailers to position  throughout Minnesota. Using fire department  feedback, SFMD staff determined these eight  trailers will help meet the training needs of  Minnesota fire departments. Five of the trailers focus on and include props necessary for training for fires involving cars,  outdoor grills and liquid propane. The other three trailers focus on and include props required to conduct training on roof  ventilation, chimney fires and forcible entry. Learn more on the MBFTE website.

Wildfire information and burning restrictions

Get more information about the current burning restrictions in Minnesota and the most recent wildfire status from the Minnesota DNR.

Sparky the Fire Dog

Let Sparky the Fire Dog help you. Sparky the Fire Dog is perfect for teaching fire and life safety to children because it can communicate with them on their level.​​


Resources for your community 

Burn Institute's interactive website

The Burn Institute's Fire Safe Kid website is a fun, interactive place for kids to learn all about fire and burn prevention. 

Keep away!

Keep away is a fun activity designed to reinforce the message that lighters and matches are tools only for grown-ups -- not toys -- and to help them develop visual memory skills. 


Firetrap is a game designed to teach children to quickly get out of the house in case of a fire.​​