Basic Fire / Arson Investigation
This three-day basic fire and arson investigation course gives law enforcement officers and firefighters with basic skills required in an initial fire scene investigation. Participants will learn about fire behavior and basic origin and cause investigation techniques, along with scene preservation, documentation and evidence collection. Legal aspects and arson motives are also covered in this first course of a two-part series. This course will train fire and law enforcement personnel to determine the origin and cause of a fire, as required by Minnesota State law, while addressing National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) considerations for conducting such investigations.
Students must be actively working for a Fire or Law Enforcement Agency and have obtained an NFPA 1001 Firefighter I Certification, or Minnesota POST License. A fee of $25 will be charged to anyone who fails to cancel their registration at least 24 hours prior to the start of a class, or one business day in advance of classes beginning on Monday. Exceptions will be made for individuals unable to attend due to illness, or a family or work emergency. This is a three day course. Students are asked to bring scene diagramming equipment (i.e. pencils, paper, tape measure, ruler), photography equipment, a laptop or tablet (if available).
Advanced Fire / Arson Investigation
The advanced fire / arson investigation class combines the former intermediate and on-scene investigation classes into a single, four-day course. Topics covered include interviewing, vehicle fires, and electricity as it relates to fires. The instructors burn a house and students will gain hands-on experience by processing the fire scene, interviewing witnesses and suspects and building a case for the county attorney. Prerequisite: Students must present their Basic Fire Arson certificate first day of class.
Studentsmust be actively employed by either a fire department or law enforcement agency. A fee of $25 will be charged to anyone who fails to cancel their registration at least 24 hours prior to the start of a class, or one business day in advance of classes beginning on Monday. Exceptions will be made for individuals unable to attend due to illness, or a family or work emergency. Students are asked to bring PPE - including coveralls or fire turnout gear, scene diagramming equipment, photography equipment (no cell phone cameras), and a laptop or tablet (if available).
You can register for this class online
SFMD Basic Fire / Arson Investigation Certificate
Statewide training and events calendar
The Minnesota Board of Firefighter Training and Education has a detailed training and events calendar
. Check it out for the latest opportunities.